top of page
  • Writer's pictureSSRC

Rodrigo Gonçalves Wins 2017 SSRC MAJR Medal

Rodrigo Gonçalves, Ph.D., Assistant Professor at NOVA University Lisbon is the 2017 recipient of the MAJR Medal.

The McGuire Award for Junior Researchers (MAJR Medal) has been established in honor of the late Professor William “Bill” McGuire, a long-term member of SSRC, who emphasized that state-of-the-art research is instrumental to improve the quality of stability design. The award recognizes the research activity of the candidate in a period not exceeding nine years after obtaining his/her Ph.D. degree.

Gonçalves will receive the award and deliver a presentation on his recent research activity at the 2018 SSRC Annual Stability Conference in Baltimore, Maryland.

The following jurors collaborated to select Gonçalves as the recipient of the 2017 award:

  1. Larry A. Fahnestock, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  2. Todd A. Helwig, University of Texas at Austin

  3. Daniel G. Linzell, University of Nebraska

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SSRC 2022 Conference Proceedings Are Live!

The 2022 SSRC Annual Stability Conference proceedings papers are available for free download from Friday, March 18, 2022 through Friday, April 15, 2022. View Proceedings Please contact Martin Downs at


bottom of page