top of page
  • Writer's pictureSSRC

2014 Vinnakota Award

The Vinnakota Award is given for the best student authored paper presented at an SSRC Annual Stability Conference. The paper shall be based on the thesis research of an M.S. or Ph.D. student.

The award consists of a certificate, which is presented to the student and his/her advising professor, as well as a cash honorarium presented to the student.

The Vinnakota Award was established in 1997 by Ramulu S. Vinnakota, longtime member of the SSRC, in honor of his parents who believed in the importance of education and re-search.

2014 Vinnakota Award Recipient Merih Kucukler Imperial College London, UK “Stiffness Reduction Method for the Design of Steel Columns and Beam-Columns” Supervisor: Professor Leroy Gardner

Honorable Mentions

Zhichao Lai Purdue University “Analysis and Design of Noncompact and Slender Concrete-Filled Steel Tube (CFT) Beam-Columns”

André D. Martins University of Lisbon “On the Relevance of Local-Distortional Interaction Effects in the Behavior and Design of Cold-Formed Steel Columns”

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SSRC 2022 Conference Proceedings Are Live!

The 2022 SSRC Annual Stability Conference proceedings papers are available for free download from Friday, March 18, 2022 through Friday, April 15, 2022. View Proceedings Please contact Martin Downs at


bottom of page