top of page
  • Writer's pictureSSRC

Cilmar Basaglia Selected as 2019 MAJR Medal Recipient

Congratulations to Cilmar Basaglia, Ph.D., Assistant Professor at the University of Campinas, Brazil, for being selected as the 2019 recipient of the MAJR Medal.

The McGuire Award for Junior Researchers (MAJR Medal) has been established in honor of the late Professor William “Bill” McGuire, a long-term member of SSRC, who emphasized that state-of-the-art research is instrumental to improve the quality of stability design. The award recognizes the research activity of the candidate in a period not exceeding ten years after obtaining his/her Ph.D. degree.

Dr. Basaglia will receive the award and deliver a presentation on his recent research activity at the 2020 SSRC Annual Stability Conference in Atlanta, Georgia.

Congratulations also to Kara Peterman, Assistant Professor at the University of Massachusetts – Amherst, and T. Andres Sanchez, CEO of ADSTREN, for being selected as Honorable Mention in the MAJR Medal competition.

MAJR Medal Jury:

· Larry A. Fahnestock, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

· Todd A. Helwig, University of Texas at Austin

· Daniel G. Linzell, University of Nebraska

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The 2022 SSRC Annual Stability Conference proceedings papers are available for free download from Friday, March 18, 2022 through Friday, April 15, 2022. View Proceedings Please contact Martin Downs at

bottom of page