top of page
  • Writer's pictureSSRC

Cristopher D. Moen Wins 2016 SSRC MAJR Medal

Cristopher D. Moen, Ph.D., P.E., F.SEI, Associate Professor at Virginia Tech College of Engineering is the 2016 recipient of the MAJR Medal.

The McGuire Award for Junior Researchers (MAJR Medal) has been established in honor of the late Professor William “Bill” McGuire, a long-term member of SSRC, who emphasized that state-of-the-art research is instrumental to improve the quality of stability design. The award recognizes the research activity of the candidate in a period not exceeding nine years after obtaining his/her Ph.D. degree.

Moen will receive the award and deliver a presentation on his recent research activity at the 2017 SSRC Annual Stability Conference in San Antonio, Texas, on March 24, 2017.

The following jurors collaborated to select Moen as the recipient of the 2016 award:

  1. Larry A. Fahnestock, University of Illinois, Urbana, IL

  2. Perry S. Green, Bechtel Power Corporation, Waynesboro, GA

  3. Ronald D. Ziemian, Bucknell University, Lewisburg, PA

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SSRC 2022 Conference Proceedings Are Live!

The 2022 SSRC Annual Stability Conference proceedings papers are available for free download from Friday, March 18, 2022 through Friday, April 15, 2022. View Proceedings Please contact Martin Downs at


bottom of page