top of page
  • Writer's pictureSSRC

SSRC Recognizes Award Recipients at 2018 Annual Stability Conference

The SSRC Beedle, MAJR, and Vinnakota Awards were presented on Tuesday, April 10, 2018 during the Council’s Annual Meeting, kicking off the Annual Stability Conference. SSRC is proud to recognize this year’s recipients!

The Beedle Award, the top award given by SSRC, was proudly awarded to Professor Dinar Camotim. Dinar is a Professor of Structural Engineering at the University of Lisbon, Portugal, where he teaches and conducts research on structural stability. Dinar is a prolific author, an SSRC Executive Committee member, and has supervised many Post-Doctoral, PhD and MS students, including four Vinnakota Award winners. Pictured: Todd Helwig, SSRC Chairman, and winner Dinar Camotim.

The McGuire Award for Junior Researchers (MAJR) Award was established in honor of the late Bill McGuire to recognize promising young researchers in structural stability. The 2017 MAJR Medal was awarded to Rodrigo Goncalves, an Assistant Professor in the Civil Engineering Department of the Faculty of Sciences and Technology, NOVA University Lisbon. He holds a PhD in Civil Engineering, an MS in Structural Engineering, and a “Licenciatura” degree in Civil Engineering. His research focuses on Generalized Beam Theory methods and geometrically exact beam finite elements including cross-section deformation. Pictured: Todd Helwig with winner Rodrigo Goncalves.

The Vinnakota Award, which recognizes excellent work based on students’ theses or dissertations, was this year awarded to Bence Jager, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, for his paper “Flange Buckling Behavior of Trapezoidally Corrugated Web Girders Subjected to Bending and Shear Interaction.” Bence presented his paper on Wednesday, April 11, 2018 in Session S1, Stability of Built-Up Girders. Two runners up for the Vinnakota Award, Gengrui Wei and Mahdi Asadnia, were also recognized, in addition to the winner’s advisor, Laszlo Dunai. Pictured: Todd Helwig with winner Bence Jager and Dr. Ramulu S. Vinnakota, who established the award.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SSRC 2022 Conference Proceedings Are Live!

The 2022 SSRC Annual Stability Conference proceedings papers are available for free download from Friday, March 18, 2022 through Friday, April 15, 2022. View Proceedings Please contact Martin Downs at


bottom of page